Alberta has Rural, Regional & Urban Communities

There are many different types of communities and municipalities in Alberta including cities, towns, villages, summer villages, municipal districts and hamlets. Learn more about the types of Municipalities in Alberta.

There is significant commitment in Alberta to the sustainability and growth of rural communities. The Government of Alberta continues to resource numerous initiatives to support rural Alberta.



The community of Wabasca is a thriving business community, which features a new excellent fitness centre and pool. Located between and along the North and South Wabasca Lakes, it provides excellent opportunity for outdoor activities, such as boating and fishing in the summer months.